Runnymede has a rich history, much like Charleston itself. The original land grant of 300 acres was made to John Cattell in 1705. In the year of 1777, the property was conveyed to Abraham Ladson and parts of the tract were eventually sold to Nathaniel Fuller and Glenn Drayton. At the time of Ladson’s death, the remaining land was conveyed to Lambert Lance and later to John Julius Pringle, son of Robert Pringle. Runnymede was first known as “Greenville” and later as “Sarah Place” in honor of Pringle’s wife Sarah. When Pringle had taken possession of the property, a fire had claimed the original mansion. Once the new mansion was built on the property, the plantation was dubbed Runnymede due to its similarity to Runnymede in England. Both properties have a great oak in the center of the yard while their meadows open up flowing rivers. After Pringle’s death in 1841, the property passed to his son William Bull Pringle who later sold his portion of the property. Charles C. Pinckney purchased Runnymede from Pringle and mined phosphate off of the naturally occurring deposits that were scattered about the land. In 1865 the mansion built by Pringle was set on fire and destroyed by the Union Troops during the Civil War.Pinckney then rebuilt a third home which is rumored to be one of the only country style Victorian homes in the Lowcountry. The property remained in the Pinckney family and withstood the ravages of Hurricane Hugo. In 1995 Floyd and Shirley Whitfield purchased Runnymede from the Pinckney family. Unfortunately, in 2002, a familiar fate was bestowed on the mansion built by Charles C. Pinckney. A fire of mysterious causes ravaged the old mansion, leaving only a few recognizable objects such as a two- story brick chimney from the kitchen house and a bell inscribed with the date of 1704. To this date, Runnymede has persevered through war, fire and natural disasters. Each time the property has been challenged, it responds through maintaining its original beauty and charm. The woods are flourishing and the grass is lush and green. The magnificent oak which dates back more than a thousand years remains in the center of the property and surely will stand for years to come.
This charming, private property lies between Magnolia and Middleton Plantations in St. Andrew's parish. Like those gardens, Runnymede can be accessed from Ashley River Road. Your guests' experience begins as soon as they enter through the iron gates, down a proper, picturesque dirt path surrounded by a canopy of centuries old trees, twisting vines and Spanish moss. At the road's end, the forest opens up to
reveal a vast meadow displaying pristine lawns and
punctuated with magnolia trees and an oak tree so large it is a sight upon itself. Beyond the meadow, an unobstructed view of the Ashley River, lazily floating by provides the perfect backdrop for any event. The rich, Southern history is apparent through the brick ruins of the old Victorian style Plantation house, creating a romantic mystique, intensified as the night falls and the dramatic landscape lighting is cued.
Multiple site options available
Accommodates large groups and up to 250 vehicles
Onsite fully floored 5,000 square foot tent included
Discounted, weekend & week long rental packages available
Open to most vendors; recommendations offered by request
Contact our Venue Manager for pricing and availability.